Research Guides: Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas: Bibliography and Printing

Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas

Description

This sub-section has materials recording the history of printing and literature in early America. Each bibliography provides lists of sources on the subject, some with brief synopses.

Highlights

American bibliography; a chronological dictionary of all books, pamphlets, and periodical publications printed in the United States of America from the genesis of printing in 1639 down to and including the year 1820 by Charles Evans
Call Number: Reading Room; Z1215 .E92 1903

Publication Date: 1903-1959

This bibliography includes works spanning across more than 150 years of printing in the United States of America.
An essay towards an Indian bibliography : being a catalogue of books, relating to the history, antiquities, languages, customs, religion, wars, literature, and origin of the American Indians, in the library of Thomas W. Field ; with bibliographical and hi by Thomas W. Field
Call Number: Vault; Z1209 .F45 1873

Publication Date: 1873

This book provides a bibliography on works related to Native Americans from the library of Thomas W. Field.
The history of printing in America : with a biography of printers, and an account of newspapers. To which is prefixed a concise view of the discovery and progress of the art in other parts of the world. In two volumes by Isaiah Thomas
Call Number: Vault; Z205 .T56 1810

Publication Date: 1810
Bibliotheca americana vetustissima : a description of works relating to America, published between the years 1492 and 1551 by Henry Harrisse
Call Number: Rare; Z1202 .H3 1866

Publication Date: 1866
Biblioteca americana. A dictionary of books relating to America, from its discovery to the present time by Joseph Sabin
Call Number: Rare; Z1201 .S2 1868

Publication Date: 1868-1936
Catalogue of the Wymberley Jones De Renne Georgia library at Wormsloe, isle of Hope near Savannah, Georgia ...
Call Number: Rare; E1273 .D46 1931

Publication Date: 1931

Special Collections & Archives

Visit SCA Online

Special Collections & Archives Website

FSU Library Catalog
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database

FSU Digital Repository

Email SCA Staff

Visit SCA In-Person

Visit SCA Spaces

SCA Reading Rooms Hours

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Claude Pepper Library
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217