Research Guides: Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas: Native Americans

Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas

Description

This sub-section includes accounts of life on the frontier and war with and among Native Americans from the perspective of settlers and expansionists.

Highlights

The history of the Five Indian nations of Canada : which are dependent on the province of New-York in America, and are the barrier between the English and French in that part of the world by Cadwallader Colden
Call Number: Vault; E99.I7 C7 1755

Publication Date: 1755

This work provides a history of interactions between the English, French, and Native Americans between the British colonies of New York and the French colonies in Canada. It includes treaties, trade, and accounts of attacks between the parties.
The history of the American Indians by James Adair
Call Number: Vault, John Ringling Library; E77.A21 1775

Publication Date: 1775

Adair details observations from several sources of Native American cultural practices and religion. Included is Adair's argument for further colonization and integration of Native Americans into western society.
Chronicles of border warfare : or, a history of the settlement by the whites, of north-western Virginia: and of the Indian wars and massacres, in that section of the state; with reflections, anecdotes, &c by Alexander Scott Withers
Call Number: Vault; E81 .W81 1831

Publication Date: 1831
A journal, containing an accurate and interesting account of the hardships, sufferings, battles, defeat, and captivity of those heroic Kentucky volunteers and regulars commanded by General Winchester, in the years 1812-13 by Elias Darnell
Call Number: Vault; E355.2.D23 1834

Publication Date: 1834
History of the war between the United States and the Sac and Fox nations of Indians by John Allen Wakefield
Call Number: Vault; E83.83.W14 1834

Publication Date: 1834
History of the Indian tribes of North America : with biographical sketches and anecdotes of the principal chiefs by Thomas L. McKenney
Call Number: Vault; E77 .M135 1848

Publication Date: 1848-50

Special Collections & Archives

Visit SCA Online

Special Collections & Archives Website

FSU Library Catalog
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database

FSU Digital Repository

Email SCA Staff

Visit SCA In-Person

Visit SCA Spaces

SCA Reading Rooms Hours

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Claude Pepper Library
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217