Research Guides: Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas: Revolutionary and Post Revolutionary Period

Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas

Description

This sub-section highlights influential writings from American revolutionaries. It includes personal narratives from the birth of the United States, calls for action against the British Empire, and historical accounts of battles fought during the American Revolution.

Highlights

Common sense by Thomas Paine
Call Number: Vault; E211.P121 1776
Publication Date: 1776
Paine's famous pamphlet called upon colonists to rise up against the British for independence. This edition of the pamphlet is modified, omitting or abbreviating words that may have been offensive to British or loyalist viewers.
Memoirs of the American Revolution : from its commencement to the year 1776, inclusive, as relating to the state of South-Carolina, and occasionally refering [sic] to the states of North-Carolina and Georgia by John Drayton
Call Number: Vault; E263.S7 D7 1821
Publication Date: 1821
John Drayton was the governor of South Carolina during the American Revolution. His memoirs recall his contributions to the Revolution effort as well as his family's and associates.
Considerations on the propriety of imposing taxes in the British colonies : for the purpose of raising a revenue, by Act of Parliament ... by Daniel Dulany
Call Number: Vault; E211 .D875 1765
Publication Date: 1765
This document focuses on the Stamp Act imposed on the British colonies of North America. It protests the British Parliament's practice of taxation without representation, as the colonies were not allowed to be represented in the Parliament.
A topographical description of such parts of North America as are contained in the (annexed) map of the middle British colonies & in North America by Thomas Pownall
Call Number: Vault (Oversize); E163 .P83 1776
Publication Date: 1776
Remembrancer
Call Number: Rare; E203 .R386 1775-84
Publication Date: 1775-1784
An historical narrative and topographical description of Louisiana and West-Florida, comprehending the river Mississsippi with its principal branches and settlementss, and the rivers Pearl, Pascagoula ... &c. ... with directions for sailing into all the b by Thomas Hutchins
Call Number: Vault; E163 .H96 1784
Publication Date: 1784
A history of the campaigns of 1780 and 1781, in the southern provinces of North America by Lieutenant-General (Banastre) Tarleton
Call Number: Vault; E236 .T17 1787
Publication Date: 1787
The history of the rise, progress, and establishment, of the independence of the United States of America : including an account of the late war ; and of the thirteen colonies, from their origin to that period by William Gordon
Call Number: Vault; E208 .G66 1788
Publication Date: 1788
The crisis : in thirteen numbers, written during the late war by Thomas Paine
Call Number: Rare; E211 .P116 1792
Publication Date: 1792
A topographical description of the western territory of North America : containing a succinct account of its soil, climate, natural history, population, agriculture, manners, and customs : with an ample description of the several divisions into which that by Gilbert Imlay
Call Number: Vault; F352 .I33 1797
Publication Date: 1797
The journal of Andrew Ellicott by Andrew Ellicott
Call Number: Vault; F213.E46 1803
Publication Date: 1803
Commerce of the prairies, or, The journal of a Santa Fé trader : during eight expeditions across the great western prairies, and a residence of nearly nine years in northern Mexico ... by Josiah Gregg
Call Number: Vault; F800 .G8 1844
Publication Date: 1844
Journal of F.P. Cowdrey by F.P. Cowdrey
Call Number: Vault; F865 .C69 1849
Publication Date: 1849-1863

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm