Research Guides: Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas: Travel Literature

Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas

Description

This sub-section includes travelers' accounts from across early America. These accounts include descriptions of the land accompanied by maps, as well as Native American tribes and trade.

Highlights

Travels in Louisiana and the Floridas, in the year, 1802 : giving a correct picture of those countries by Berquin-Duvallon
Call Number: Vault; F373 .B55 1806
Publication Date: 1806
Berquin-Duvallon provides accounts of his travels and descriptions of the land. His travels take him through Louisiana, the Mississippi River Valley, and west Florida.
Views of Louisiana : together with a Journal of a voyage up the Missouri River, in 1811 by H.M. Brackenridge
Call Number: Vault; F353 .B77 1814
Publication Date: 1814
Brackenridge's journal contains descriptions, charts and tables of Louisiana and Native American trade in the region.
Travels through the interior parts of North America, in the years 1766, 1767, and 1798 by Jonathan Carver
Call Number: Vault; F597 .C347 1780
Publication Date: 1780
Carver provides descriptions of the land and his travels through the northwestern states, the Mississippi River Valley, and Minnesota. He also describes his observations of the Native Americans in the northwest states.
Voyages de m. le marquis de CHastellux dans l'Amérique septentrionale : dans les années 1780, 1781 & 1782 by François Jean marquis de Chastellux
Call Number: Vault; E163 .C58 1786
Publication Date: 1786
Premier voyage autour du monde by Antonio Pigafetta
Call Number: Vault; G420.M2 P63 1801
Publication Date: 1801
Travels through the two Louisianas, and among the savage nations of the Missouri : also, in the United States, along the Ohio, and the adjacent provinces, in 1801, 1802, & 1803. With a sketch of the manners, customs, character, and the civil and religious by François Marie Perrin du Lac
Call Number: Vault; F352 .P4 1807
Publication Date: 1807
Sketches of a tour to the western country, through the states of Ohio and Kentucky; a voyage down the Ohio and Mississippi rivers, and a trip through the Mississippi territory, and part of West Florida, commenced at Philadelphia in the winter of 1807, and by Fortesque Cuming
Call Number: Vault; F518 .C97 1810
Publication Date: 1810
An account of expeditions to the sources of the Mississippi : and through the western parts of Louisiana to the sources of the Arkansaw, Kans, La Platte, and Pierre Jaun Rivers : performed by order of the government of the United States during the years 1 by Zebulon Montgomery Pike
Call Number: Vault; F592 .P63 1810
Publication Date: 1810

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm