Social Marketing

• Government sources such as U.S. Census, CDC, polls, and survey research reports are good places to find data on your target audience and their behaviors. 
• Try business statistics databases such as Statista.
• When you see statistics from professional associations, organizations, and advocacy groups, make sure that the stats are up-to-date, verify the sources, and identify possible biases in them.

• Local 
  • FSU Students: Office of Institutional Research > Factbook > the "Students" section
  • Leon County Demographics from the U.S. Census Bureau
  • What we know about Gen Z so far (from Pew Research Center)
• US - General
  • Data.Census.Gov from the U.S. Census Bureau
  • USA Quick Facts. Overview of the US demographics. State-level search is available. 
  • Current Population Survey from the U.S. Census Bureau
  • Demographics/Labor Force Stats
• US - Neighborhood demographics, consumer lifestyles, attitudes, and spending 
  • American Community Survey
    For detailed population and housing information
  • American Time Use Survey 
    Measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing
  • Consumer Expenditure Survey 
  • MyBestSegments (from Nielsen) 

[Best Bets]

• iPoll Databank (database)
• Pew Research Center

[Polling Agencies]

• Gallup

  Around for over 80 years with nonpartisan analysis of global issues. Some contents are freely available on the website. Search the site with poll subject.

• Harris Poll

  One of the longest-running surveys in the U.S. tracking public opinion, motivations and social sentiment since 1963

• KFF Polling

  From Kaiser Family Foundation, a good source in health policy analysis, polling and health journalism

• Pew Research Center

  A good source for public opinion polling, demographic research, and media content analysis. Search the site with poll subject

[Collection of Polls from Different Sources]  

• iPoll Databank (database)

  IPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full-text database of 500,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935 and is updated daily. iPOLL includes survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many data sets are available for download in ASCII or SPSS format.

• PollingReport.com

  An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. Shows a report of polls from different sources. E.g., Guns related polls at https://www.pollingreport.com/guns.htm

• ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)

  Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. The collection includes CBS News/New York Times Poll Series, National Poll on Healthy Aging, and over 3,000 polls on various topics.

• World Public Opinion

  An international collaborative project, a source for public opinion around the world on international issues

Professional societies, government agencies, and trade associations are good places to get familiar with the topic and for the latest statistics and polls results. Some examples include:

[Government Agencies]

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
• Environmental Protection Agency   
• Florida Department of Health
• Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
• World Health Organization

[Nonprofit, Trade Associations, Professional Organizations or Research Institutes ]

• American Association of Retired Persons   
• American Cancer Society  
• American Medical Association
• Amnesty International 
• UNICEF > Health 
• World Wildlife Fund 
• Yale Program on Climate Change Communication 

Tip:
1.  To find organizations on an issue, use the site:.org  or site:.gov search code at Google. Or add "advocacy" to the search keywords 
     E.g.,  "death penalty" site:.org 
               drug abuse advocacy 
2. To find similar organizations, use the related: search code at Google
    E.g.,   related:cdc.gov