Research Guides: History and Philosophy of Science: Chemistry

General Reference

Subject areas of possible interest to those researching within the topic of Chemistry might include Chemistry, Photochemistry, Radiation chemistry, Energy levels (quantum mechanics), Florida State University Department of Chemistry, Molecules, Spectrum analysis, Chemistry, inorganic, Agricultural chemistry, and Botanical chemistry.

Robert Boyle

Robert Boyle (1627-1691) was a philosopher, chemist, physicist, and inventor who is best known for Boyle's Law which describes the inversely proportional relationship that the volume and absolute pressure of a gas have when a constant temperature is applied in a closed system. Boyle is known as the first modern chemist and a founder of modern chemistry, one who helped to pioneer the modern scientific experimental method. A five-volume item on the works of Robert Boyle and the life of the scientist is held in Special Collections and Archives and can be viewed here.

Finding Aids

Finding Aids are tools which facilitate the discovery of detailed information about a specific collection of records within an archive, often consisting of document inventory as well as a description of the materials, their source, and their structure.

Russell H. Johnsen Papers
This collection illustrates the development of higher education programs in nuclear physics and chemistry and changes in teaching science and mathematics during the 1950s and 1960s specifically at Florida State University. This covers important aspects of Russell Johnsen's professional career including correspondence, news clippings, reports and photographs. It also includes several publications illustrating his activities in the development of the nuclear science and radiation chemistry programs at Florida State University and his affairs as Vice-Chair for the Center for Research in College Instruction of Science and Mathematics (CRICISAM), which was a cooperative effort between 18 major universities to investigate, develop, and disseminate new materials, techniques, and syllabi for teaching in various fields of science and mathematics on the college level. CRICISAM FSU served as the "executive headquarters" for the Center.

Collections and Rare Items

Culinary chemistry, : exhibiting the scientific principles of cookery, with concise instructions for preparing good and wholesome pickles, vinegar, conserves, fruit jellies, marmalades, and various other alimentary substances employed in domestic economy, by Accum, Friedrich Christian 1769-1838
Call Number: TX651 .A2 1821

Publication Date: London, : R. Ackermann, 1821

With copper plates.
Electronic levels of complex molecules : covering part of the research completed during the period January 1, 1955-June 30, 1957
Call Number: QC454.M6 E5

Publication Date: Tallahassee, Fla. : Dept. of Chemistry, Florida State University, 1957
Familiar lectures on botany, practical, elementary and physiological : with an appendix, containing descriptions of the plants of the United States and exotics, &c. for the use of seminaries and private students by Phelps, Lincoln Mrs. 1793-1884
Call Number: QK47 .P53 1837

Publication Date: New York : F.G. Huntington & Co., 1837

Mrs. Almira H. Lincoln was the late vice-principal of Troy Female Seminary, author of Lectures to young lades, Chemistry for beginners, and Botany for beginners.
Foster's First principles of chemistry : illustrated by a series of the most recently discovered and brilliant experiments known to the science : adapted specially for classes by Foster, W.
Call Number: QD28 .F67 1855

Publication Date: New York : Harper & Brothers, Publishers, 1855
Fundamental aspects of photosensitization. Intercombinations in molecules Dept. of Chemistry, Florida State University ... ; project supervisor, M. Kasha
Call Number: QC454.M6 F9

Publication Date: Tallahassee, Fla. : Dept. of Chemistry, Florida State University, 1958
Lectures on chemistry, for the use of schools, families, and private students by Phelps, Lincoln Mrs. 1793-1884
Call Number: QD30 .P48 1844

Publication Date: New York : Huntington & Savage, 1844, c1838
Mellor's modern inorganic chemistry by Mellor, Joseph William 1869-1938, revised and edited by parkes, G. D. (George David) 1899-
Call Number: 546 M527m, 1951

Publication Date: London ; New York : Longmans, 1952, c1951
Mémoire sur l'utilité d'un cours public de chymie dans la ville de Dijon : les avantages qui en résulteroient pour la Province entiere, & les moyens de procurer à peu de frais cet établissement. by Guyton de Morveau, Louis Bernard 1737-1816
Call Number: QD40 .G8

Publication Date: Dijon : L. N. Frantin, 1775
New conversations on chemistry : adapted to the present state of that science; wherein its elements are clearly and familiarly explained. On the foundation of Mrs. Marcet's "Conversations on chemistry" by Jones, Thomas P. 1774-1848
Call Number: QD30 .J77 1838

Publication Date: Philadelphia : J. Grigg, 1838
Recherches chimiques sur la végétation. by Saussure, Nicolas Théodore de 1767-1845
Call Number: QK711 .S38

Publication Date: Paris, V. Nyon, 1804
Research in nuclear chemistry : progress report for the period July 1, 1963 to May 31, 1964, contract AT-(40-1)-1797 by Gregory R. Choppin, Principal Investigator
Call Number: QD601 .R43 1964

Publication Date: [Tallahassee, Florida] : Florida State University, Department of Chemistry, [1964]
Rural economy, in its relations with chemistry, physics, and meteorology : or, Chemistry applied to agriculture by Boussingault, J. B. (Jean Baptiste) 1802-1887, translated, with an introduction and notes by George Law
Call Number: S585 .B78 1850

Publication Date: New York : D. Appleton, 1850
The works of the honourable Robert Boyle : in five volumes, to which is prefixed the life of the author. by Birch, Thomas 1705-1766
Call Number: QC3 .B8 1744

Publication Date: London, : Printed for A. Millar, 1744

Contains "The life of the Honourable Robert Boyle" and a table of contents of the five volumes. Copy one of the book is bound in full leather, and stamped in gold with leather labels on spines also stamped in gold; all edges stained red. Copy two has been rebound (20th century), with edges stained red.
A compendium of the course of chemical instruction in the Medical department of the University of Pennsylvania by Hare, Robert 1781-1858
Call Number: QD30 .H28 1828

Publication Date: Philadelphia : J. G. Auner : Carey, Lea & Carey, 1828
The Edinburgh new dispensatory : containing, I. The elements of pharmaceutical chemistry. II. The materia medica; or, An account of the different substances employed in medicine. III. The pharmaceutical preparations and medicinal compositions of the lates by Lewis, William 1708-1781
Call Number: RS151.3 .L58 1796

Publication Date: Philadelphia, : Printed by T. Dobson, 1796

This 4th edition contains many alterations, corrections, and additions including a full and clear account of the new chemical doctrines published by Mr. Lavoisier.
An annual cycle of the plankton and chemistry of four aquatic habitats in northern Florida by Pierce, E. Lowe (Emory Lowe) 1913-
Call Number: QL143 .P5 1947

Publication Date: Gainesville : University of Florida Press, 1947