Research Guides: History and Philosophy of Science: Botany

Primary Sources

The American woods, exhibited by actual specimens and with copious explanatory text by Romeyn Beck Hough
Call Number: Vault SD536 .H83 1910
Consisting of 13 volumes, The American Woods contains a collection of actual wood samples from North American trees presented as paper thin cross sections accompanied by information about the wood, its habitat and uses.
The anatomy of plants : with an idea of a philosophical history of plants : and several other lectures, read before the Royal Society by Nehemiah Grew
Call Number: Vault (Oversize) ; QK41 G82 1682
Publication Date: 1682
Descriptions of the roots, trunks, leaves, flowers, and fruits of plants as well as how these parts function.
Caroli Clvsii Atrebat. : Rariorum aliquot stirpium per Hispanias obseruatarum Historia, libris dvobvs expressa... by Carolus Clusius
Call Number: Vault ; QK41 .L4 1576
Publication Date: 1576
One of the earliest books on Spanish flora, written by Carolus Clusius, a 16th century botanist. This book features a number of descriptive woodcuts illustrating the plants mentioned in the text.

Digital Resources at FSU

Cookbooks and Herbals | FSU Digital Library

This collection of digital sources contains primary source materials from FSU Libraries that have been digitized and made available through FSU's Digital Library. Included within this resource is a collection of herbals, or books that describe plants and their medicinal uses. These books contribute to the research and work of physicians, pharmacists, and botanists by providing information about the use and appearance of these plants.

External Resources

The Biodiversity Heritage Library: the world's largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives

Cornell University Plant Anatomy Collection: a historically important collection of anatomical slide preparations of a wide array of plant parts.