Skip to Main Content

History and Philosophy of Science

Guide to resources for the history and philosophy of science, especially rare books in the FSU Special Collections & Archives

Welcome to the History and Philosophy of Science LibGuide

 

Jan Collaert, after Jan van der Straet, Nova Reperta Title Plate, ca. 1600. The Metropolitan Museum of Art

This research guide was created to support research in the history and philosophy of science at Florida State University. Please use the links on the navigation column to the left to navigate to different resources available to students and researchers. 

Links to Resources at FSU

FSU Library Catalog: Search the Catalog for books relating to the history of science. These books can be found at both Strozier Library and Dirac Science Library. 

Special Collections and Archives: The Special Collections and Archives Department houses many primary sources on the history of science. Appointments may be made on this page to view sources in the collection.

DigiNole: DigiNole provides online access to thousands of manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, rare books, maps and other materials from FSU Library's collections.

Research Help

  • Questions? Ask a Librarian! Use the chat feature to ask research and reference questions
  • Connect with a Subject Specialist FSU Library's subject specialists can provide instruction as well as research assistance for researchers and students. 
  • Check out our other research guides Research guides are divided by subject and offer helpful resources for finding information about a specific topic. 
  • FSU Reading-Writing Center The Reading-Writing Center is a resource for currently enrolled FSU students. Students can make an appointment for help researching, writing, or revising their papers. 
  • FSU Library's Citation Guide offers formatting guidance on a range of different citation styles as well as information on citation management systems. 

 

Links to Related Departments at FSU

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Summer 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday By Appointment
Tuesday 11am - 5pm
Wednesday 11am - 5pm
Thursday 11am - 5pm
Friday By Appointment

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday By Appointment
Tuesday 11am - 5pm
Wednesday 11am - 5pm
Thursday 11am - 5pm
Friday By Appointment

The Florida State University Libraries
FIND & BORROW | RESEARCH & PUBLISH | VISIT & STUDY | COLLECTIONS | ABOUT | HELP & SUPPORT

© 2022 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706