Research Guides: History and Philosophy of Science: Atmospheric and Environmental Science, Ecology

Primary Sources

Meteorological Observations and Essays by John Dalton
Call Number: QC859 .D34
Publication Date: 1793
Dalton's work was rooted in his own observations as well as those of his friends, John Gough and Peter Crosthwaite. When published it marked a transitional period for meteorology towards a serious scientific pursuit.
Ecological Communities by Donald R. Strong (Editor); Daniel Simberloff (Editor); Lawrence G. Abele (Editor); Anne B. Thistle (Editor); Donald R. Strong (Editor)
Call Number: QH541.145 .E258 1984
ISBN: 0691083401
Publication Date: 1984-08-21
This work is the first to focus systematically on a much-debated topic: the conceptual issues of community ecology, including the nature of evidence in ecology, the role of experiments, attempts to disprove hypotheses, and the value of negative evidence in the discipline.
Man on earth : a preliminary evaluation of the ecology of man by S. P. R. Charter
Call Number: HM101 .C48 1970
Publication Date: 1970
A book that explores man's nature in relation to the environment. Initially a series of essays given at Pacifica Foundation Radio in the early 1960s.

Finding Aids at FSU

Finding aids are tools that help a user find information in a specific record group, collection, or series of archival materials. Examples of finding aids include published and unpublished inventories, container and folder lists, card catalogs, calendars, indexes, registers, and institutional guides. The finding aid below connects to archival documents in FSU's collection.

Bruce Means Papers (MSS 2018-004): field notes, biological and ecological data, journals, subject files, and audiovisual recordings documenting the research, professional output, and personal life of Bruce Means.

External Resources

Forest History Society collections: this collection contains a range of information about forest and conservation history . It provides access to over 45,000 citations to published items on environmental history topics, 30,000 historical photographs, and descriptions of archival collections from over 450 North American repositories.

Climate Data Online: this site provides free access to the National Climatic Data Center's archive of global historical weather and climate data