Research Guides: History and Philosophy of Science: Anatomy and Medicine

Primary Sources

A discourse of the whole art of chyrurgery : Wherin is exactly set down the definitions, causes, accidents, prognostications and cures of all sorts of diseases ... Whereunto is added the rule of making remedies which chyrurgions doe commonly use, with The by Peter Lowe
Call Number: RD21 .L68 1654
Publication Date: 1654
This book is an early example of a surgical manual complete with illustrations of surgical instruments, as well as descriptions of diseases and their cures.
Anomalies and curiosities of medicine : being an encyclopaedic collection of rare and extraordinary cases, and of the most striking instances of abnormality in all branches of medicine and surgery, derived from an exhaustive research of medical literature by George M. Gould
Call Number: QM691 .G68 1901
Publication Date: 1901
An encyclopedia of medical cases which concentrates on medical abnormalities and includes photographs and illustrations from earlier sources.
A system of anatomy for the use of students of medicine by Caspar Wistar
Call Number: QM23 .W8 1823
Publication Date: 1823
Written by Caspar Wistar, professor of anatomy at the University of Pennsylvania, this book served as an introduction to anatomy for students of medicine at the beginning of the nineteenth century.

Finding Aids at FSU

Finding aids are tools that help a user find information in a specific record group, collection, or series of archival materials. Examples of finding aids include published and unpublished inventories, container and folder lists, card catalogs, calendars, indexes, registers, and institutional guides. The finding aid below connects to archival documents in FSU's collection.

College of Medicine Ephemera and Publications (HUA 2016-040): This collection consists of College of Medicine newsletters, invitations to events, chronology of major events in the college, and a Maguire Library pamphlet.

External Resources

Medical Heritage Library: The MHL is a digital collection of medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films that are available online through the Internet Archive. The sources represent 700 years of medical history.
National Library of Medicine Digital Library: includes many digitized biomedical books, images, and videos available for download.
Anatomia Collection: Anatomical plates 1522-1867: this online collection features approximately 4500 full-pages plates and other illustrations of human anatomy from the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto. Images range from 1522-1867, forming a significant range of illustrative techniques and practices.
Medicine in the Americas: a digital library project focusing on works that demonstrate the evolution of American medicine