Research Guides: History and Philosophy of Science: Mathematics

Primary Sources

The grounde of artes: teaching the worke and practise of arithmetike, both in the whole numbres and fractions, after a more easyer and exacter sorte then any like hath hitherto been sette forthe by Robert Record
Call Number: QA33 .R3
Publication Date: 1561
Recorde's book was one of the first printed English textbooks on arithmetic. It was first published in 1543 and was reprinted until 1700 due to its popularity.
Evclide Megarense ... by Niccolò Tartaglia
Call Number: QA31 .E8767
Publication Date: 1569
Niccolò Tartaglia was noteworthy not only as a mathematician in his own right, but also for his translation of Euclid's work into Italian. Euclid, a Greek mathematician was most known for his Elements treatise which established the foundations of geometry.
Elements of the mathematical theory of electricity and magnetism by J. J. Thompson
Call Number: QC518 .T47
Publication Date: 1909

Finding Aids at FSU

Finding aids are tools that help a user find information in a specific record group, collection, or series of archival materials. Examples of finding aids include published and unpublished inventories, container and folder lists, card catalogs, calendars, indexes, registers, and institutional guides. The finding aid below connects to archival documents in FSU's collection.

Florida State University Supercomputer Computational Research Institute (SCRI) Records (MSS 2004-011): this collection collection includes documents pertaining to supercomputer research and use created by FSU SCRI. The SCRI was founded in 1984 and attracted interdisciplinary collaborators from fields such as computational science, physics, chemistry, and mathematics, among others.

External Resources

MacTutor: a free online resource containing biographies of more than 3000 mathematicians as well as other essays and supporting materials

Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A: includes scholarly articles published by the Royal Society on mathematical, physical and engineering sciences.

Science and Mathematics at the National Museum of American History: a collection of objects pertaining to the history of mathematics and science including instruments of measurement as well as models demonstrating mathematical principles.

Newton Papers: A digital collection of the papers of Isaac Newton (1642-1727) including his early papers, college notebooks, and an annotated copy of his book, the Principia.