Research Guides: History and Philosophy of Science: Finding Source Material

How to Find Books at FSU

OneSearch
OneSearch is the main search box on the FSU Libraries website.

Find Books @ Other Libraries

Books in libraries other than FSU may be requested through UBORROW or Interlibrary Loan. FSU students and faculty may personally check out books from any state university or community college library in Florida by using their FSU card.

UBorrow
Borrow books from any of the 11 state universities in Florida. It's faster than ILL and renewals can be requested. Start by searching the FSU catalog, then click on the blue UBorrow icon at the top of your search results. Select the book you want and click on the blue UBorrow link again to request it.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and journal articles from libraries around the world. Use ILL to request materials not available at FSU.

WorldCat (OCLC WorldCat Discovery) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery provides single-search access to OCLC's catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Abbreviation: wcwc
Vendor: OCLC
Subjects: Indexes & Catalogs
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (Global) (PQDT, ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full-text.
You have access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: The Arts

Abbreviation: dissertations
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses

CRL - International Dissertation Catalog
FSU has free and unlimited use of CRL collections--including international dissertations. Simply request the one (or more) you need through InterLibrary Loan (see above).
DART Europe E-Theses Portal
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD).
Theses.fr
Index to all theses defended in France since 1985. It has both French and English interfaces and some theses are available full-text.

Finding Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

You can also conduct a much broader search for journal articles from a variety of disciplines and subject areas. Use OneSearch to expand your search beyond the history-specific databases.

Additional Resources for the History and Philosophy of Science

In additional to the databases listed above, the resources below offer a starting point for information pertaining to the history and philosophy of science.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: an up-to-date resource on philosophy and related disciplines.
Consortium for History of Science, Technology, and Medicine: This site allows users to search for keywords in catalogs and finding aids for rare books, manuscripts, artifacts, and images.
The History and Philosophy of Science, Technology, and Medicine: A Selection of Websites and other Sources: This website contains a collection of different internet sources on disciplines in the history of science. References are generally organized by location, topic, source type, or individual.
Heralds of Science: A collection of primary sources made available by the Smithsonian Institute and deemed important markers for the history of science
Digital Collections of the Science History Institute: a thematic collection of texts and objects from the Science History Institute