Research Guides: History and Philosophy of Science: Oceanography

Primary Sources

Report on the scientific results of the voyage of H.M.S. Challenger during the years 1873-76 under the command of Captain George S. Nares and the late Captain Frank Tourle Thomson. by Great Britain. Challenger Office
Call Number: Q115 .C4 1880
Publication Date: 1880-95
The voyage of the HMS Challenger was a scientific expedition from 1872-76 that laid the foundation for the discipline of oceanography. This series forms some of the reports and results of the expedition.
Farthest north : being the record of a voyage of exploration of the ship "Fram" 1893-96, and of a fifteen months' sleigh journey by Dr. Nansen and Lieut. Johansen by Fridtjof Nansen
Call Number: G700 1893 .N22 1897
Publication Date: 1897
The intention of the Fram expedition was to reach the North Pole. Although the journey was ultimately unsuccessful, the expedition made some geographical and scientific discoveries regarding Arctic geography and provided detailed oceanographic information from the area.
USCGC Glacier Operation Deep Freeze 1981 : Bransfield Strait and eastern Amundsen Sea piston core descriptions by F. Amrisar Kaharoeddin
Call Number: QE581 .F45 no.51
Publication Date: 1983
An example of research from Operation Deep Freeze, a codename for a series of United States missions to Antarctica.

Finding Aids at FSU

Finding aids are tools that help a user find information in a specific record group, collection, or series of archival materials. Examples of finding aids include published and unpublished inventories, container and folder lists, card catalogs, calendars, indexes, registers, and institutional guides. The finding aids below connect to archival documents in FSU's collection.

Lawrence G. Abele Collection (MSS 2009-008): The materials in this collection have significant historical value in that they document research in the field of marine biology during the late 19th and mid to late 20th centuries.

Robert Menzel Collection (MSS 2009-010): The Menzel Collection consists of over 12,000 reprints, journal articles, scholarly papers, scientific reports, and bulletins that focus on all aspects of marine life in the United States. Some of the most prominent subjects in the collection are reprints of sources that pertain to fisheries, marine fauna, and several types of fish, marine arthropods, and mollusca.

Deep-C Consortium Records (HUA 2015-038): Digital copies of reports, meeting presentations and posters, outreach materials, publications, photos/videos, social media archives, and other organizational documents related to the Deep-C Consortium.

Florida State University Coastal and Marine Laboratory Files (MSS 2009-012): This collection includes correspondence, blueprints, cruise information, boat registration, research statistics, maps and photographs related to the Florida State University Coastal and Marine Laboratory.

External Resources

NOAA Ocean: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Resources

Marine Geology and Geophysics at the National Geophysical Data Center: compiles data from both national and international sources through cooperative programs and exchange agreements, including through the World Data Center system.