Research Guides: MAN 4720: Strategic Management and Business Policy: 11: Organizational Design

What is strategy?

Readings for the Week

Case Studies Guide

Close reading of the Case Studies Guide will definitely provide many suggestions for this assignment.

Harvard Business Review Caution

Harvard Business Review (HBR) is a great business journal that is heavily used in this class. There are certain copyright restrictions Harvard Business Publishing has placed on the only online provider of HBR, EBSCO's Business Source Compete. FSU cannot link directly to the HBR articles, so below you will learn strategies for finding articles in HBR using Business Source Complete.

Podolny, J. M., & Hansen, M. T. (2020). How Apple Is Organized for Innovation. Harvard Business Review, 98(6), 86–95.

How to Search for a Particular Article Using Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports

Company Library Research Overview

A complete overview of how to search for company data. This guide will have a "Best Bets" for suggestions on finding basic company information. Under "Public Companies" you will find a specific direction for researching public companies. Under "Private Companies" you will find the same for private companies.

Complementary Readings

Casciaro, Tiziana, Amy C. Edmondson, and Sujin Jang. (2019) "Cross-silo leadership." Harvard Business Review 97(3) (May-June): 130-139.
Kim, W. C., & Mauborgne, R. (2009). “How strategy shapes structure.” Harvard Business Review, 87(9) (September) 72-80.
Podolny, J. M., & Hansen, M. T. (2020). “How Apple is organized for innovation.” Harvard Business Review, 98(6) (November-December) 86-95.
Groysberg, B., Lee, J., Price, J., & Cheng, J. (2018). “The leader’s guide to corporate culture.” Harvard Business Review, 96(1) (January-February) 44-52.