Research Guides: United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Goal 1: No Poverty

Targets & Indicators

Goal 1: Targets & Indicators

Open Resources

Poverty Data - Global

Poverty Headcount Ratio
Global Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI)
Poverty & Equity Data (World Bank)
PovcalNet (World Bank)
An online analysis tool for global poverty monitoring
World Health Statistics data visualizations dashboard
The 17 Sustainable Development Goals adopted by world leaders in September 2015 set out a vision for a world free of poverty, hunger, disease and want. SDG 3, “Good Health and Well-Being,” calls on countries to ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
World Bank
UNICEF Data

Poverty Data - US

Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP)
"IRP is a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States. It is based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. As one of three Area Poverty Research Centers sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, it has a particular interest in poverty and family welfare in the Midwest."
Child Welfare Information Gateway
A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this site provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, databases, and online learning tools for improving child welfare practice, including resources that can be shared with families.
Institute for Research on Poverty
National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP)
The Urban Institute
Poverty Guidelines - U. S. Department of Health and Human Services
Annie E. Casey Foundation - KIDS COUNT
U. S. Census Bureau Poverty Statistics

FSU User Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,200 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This database offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)
ProQuest’s online version of APA’s PsycInfo covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, with comprehensive indexing and abstracts from 1805 to present.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1805–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Ultimate provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and nursing instructional videos. PICO (Patient, Population, or Problem; Intervention; Comparison; Outcome) searching is supported.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Using PICO Search in CINAHL Ultimate

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest)
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Subject coverage:
Community and mental health services
Crisis intervention
The family and social welfare
Gerontology
Poverty and homelessness
Professional issues in social work
Social services in addiction
Social work education
Social work practice
Violence, abuse, neglect

Abbreviation: socserabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, E-Journal Collections, Human Development & Family Science, Indexes & Catalogs, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Citation Management, Dissertations / Theses, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Sociological Abstracts
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
Subject coverage:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine
Sociology of education

Abbreviation: socabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1963–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Human Development & Family Science, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Statista
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics