Research Guides: United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Goal 2: Zero Hunger

Target & Indicators

Goal 2: Target & Indicators

Open Resources

Hunger Data - Global

WHO | Nutrition Data Portal
The World Health Organization (WHO) Nutrition Data Portal is a platform that provides access to data categorized in three databases: Micronutrients, Child Growth & Malnutrition, and Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLiS)
WHO | Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLiS)
Nutrition and nutrition-related health and development data, country profiles and user-defined downloadable data.
WFP | HungerMap Live
World Food Programme | Annual Country Reports
EAT-Lancet Commission on Food, Planet, Health
First full scientific review of what constitutes a healthy diet from a sustainable food system, and which actions can support and speed up food system transformation.
Nutrition Policy Primer: The Untapped Path to Global Health, Economic Growth, and Human Security
Source: Center for Strategic and International Studies
WFP Vulnerability Analysis and Mapping |
DataViz Hub for the World Food Programme
Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO) - FAOSTAT
FAO/WHO GIFT (Global Individual Food consumption data Tool)
FAO Food and Agriculture Statistics
OECD Agricultural Statistics
Global Food Security Index
Source: The Economist
State of Food Security and Nutrition in the World
Every year, this most intensely scrutinized of FAO’s reports presents the headline number of undernourished people around the world, while advocating for strategies against hunger and malnutrition. Following publication of the global report, a wealth of statistics is disaggregated into regional reports. SOFI is jointly produced with fellow UN agencies IFAD, UNICEF, WFP and WHO.
ERS International Food Security Data
NASA Agriculture and Food Security Datasets
World Food Policy Center
A research/eduction/convening organization within Duke University’s Sanford School of Public Policy. Their mission is to advance connected and inclusive food system policy and practice in support of equity and resilience of local/national/global food systems.

Hunger Data - US

Food Environment Atlas
Source: USDA
Overview of Food Security in the United States
United States Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service
U.S. Food Insecurity Research
Feeding America
Food Access Research Atlas
USDA
USDA US Food Security Statistics & Report
Feeding America State Data Tool
Feeding America
USDA : Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
Eligibility tool, FAQ, and how to apply.
USA.gov: Food Assistance
Learn how to get food for yourself and your family through SNAP (food stamps), D-SNAP, and WIC for women, infants, and children. Apply for school meals for your kids and supplemental food for seniors. Find out how food programs can provide emergency help during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Food Research and Action Center (FRAC)
Nonprofit organization working to eradicate poverty-related hunger and undernutrition in the United States. Provides research and data and promotes legislative action.

FSU User Library Databases

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the OECD, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Everything published by the OECD (books, journals, series, working papers, databases) is available online on OECD. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, ActiveChart, DATA, ePUB, READ.
Tutorials:
User Guide

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development

Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
(AGRICultural OnLine Access) Covers journal articles, monographs, theses, microforms, audiovisuals, software and technical reports. Consists of two data sets: NAL Online Public Access Catalog and NAL's Article Citation Database, also known as: Journal Articles. Each data set may be searched separately, or together. Index to materials related to agriculture back to 1970.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: agricola
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1970–Current
Subjects: Earth Science, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Food and Agriculture Organization Legislative and Policy Database (FAOLEX) This link opens in a new window
United Nations FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest electronic collections of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management.
Abbreviation: unfao
Vendor: United Nations
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Food, International Affairs, Law
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Government Publications
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Biological Science Collection offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biology, biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Tutorials:
ProQuest Biological Science Collection LibGuide

Abbreviation: bio-sci
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports and upload your own data to view it with ours.
Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PolicyMap.
Abbreviation: pcmap
Vendor: PolicyMap
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps