Research Guides: United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Goal 14: Life Below Water

Target & Indicators

Goal 14: Targets & Indicators

Open Resources

United Nations Life Below Water: Challenges & Solutions

Global Data

US Data

FSU User Library Databases

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources This link opens in a new window
All aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues.
Tutorials:
ProQuest ASFA LibGuide

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: bsir
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1978–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Marine and freshwater aquaculture abstracts. Aquaculture-related information focuses on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species.
Tutorials:
ProQuest ASFA LibGuide

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: aquaabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds—microbes, plants, and animals—interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
Abbreviation: ecology
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982–Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests This link opens in a new window
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
Coverage includes:
- Air transportation
- Defense programs
- Energy
- Hazardous substances
- Land use
- Parks, refuges and forests
- Research and development
- Roads and railroads
- Urban and social programs
- Water
Abbreviation: eis
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Oceanography
Type: Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
140 titles, including areas of astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics, and zoology from 1984—abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
Abbreviation: gen-sci
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1984–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Earth Science, *General Science, Geology, Human Development & Family Science, Microbiology, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Oceanography, Physics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Search Box
"Advances in Water Resources"
Domains:

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Chemical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Energy
Engineering
Materials Science
Mathematics
Physics and Astronomy

Tutorials:
Online tutorials

Abbreviation: sciencedirect
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1997–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, *General Science, Anthropology, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Ocean Science, Physics, Public Health
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections"
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Water Resources Abstracts provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
Subject coverage:
Groundwater
Lakes
Estuaries
Erosion and sedimentation
Water supply and conservation
Desalination
Water yield improvement
Water quantity management and control
Watershed protection
Water quality management
Water resources planning
Water law
Engineering works and hydraulics

Abbreviation: waterres
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1967–Current
Subjects: Earth Science, Environmental Sciences, *General Science, Oceanography
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers oceanic science and nautical engineering including biological oceanography ecology physical and chemical oceanography marine geology geophysics geochemistry marine pollution nonliving marine resources navigation and communications maritime law desalination ships shipping and marine biology.
Subject coverage:
Biological Oceanography
Ecology
Physical and chemical oceanography
Marine geology
Geophysics
Geochemistry
Marine pollution
Nonliving marine resources
Navigation and communications
Maritime law
Desalination
Ships
Shipping
Marine biology

Abbreviation: oceanic
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1964–Current
Subjects: Oceanography
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
A subset, by journal title and year, of BIOSIS Previews. Provides information on recent developments in 96 subject areas of the biology and biomedical sciences covering the most prestigious journals from 1969–present. Each year BIOSIS adds more than 560,000 references covering many disciplines including: Biology, General; Neurology; Neuroscience; Physiology; Agronomy; Biochemistry & Biophysics; Cell Biology; Genetics; Invertebrate Biology, Zoology; Multidisciplinary Life & Medical Sciences; Earth & Environmental Sciences; Food Science & Technology; Microbiology; Anatomy; Developmental Biology; Plant Sciences; Embryology; Histology; Molecular Biology; Neuroanatomy; Pharmacology, Marine Biology.
Abbreviation: biosis
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1969–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

Target & Indicators

Open Resources

Global Data

US Data

FSU User Library Databases

Physical Sciences and Engineering