Research Guides: U.S. Government: Department of Energy

The Department of Energy (DOE) has as its overarching mission "to advance the national, economic, and energy security of the United States; to promote scientific and technological innovation in support of that mission; and to ensure the environmental cleanup of the national nuclear weapons complex."

Energy Websites

U.S. Department of Energy
DOE Newsroom
U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science
Country Analysis Briefs
Contains energy information and energy statistics for as coal and oil production and other information for the world's countries.
State Energy Profiles
more...less...
Energy Information Administration
All Reports and Publications
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Departmental Directives Program
Energy Citations Database
Includes scientific and technical reports from the Department of Energy and its predecessor agencies, the Atomic Energy Commission and the Energy Research and Development Administration.
Energy Information Administration
Official energy statistics from the United States government.
Information Bridge
Contains documents mostly from 1991 and later that were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees.
Accelerator R&D
Searches information resources of the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE's) scientific and technical information that contains research projects underway or just completed, major R&D accomplishments, full-text research reports, Energy citations, ongoing research summaries, accomplishments, E-prints (journal article pre-publication drafts, scholarly papers) and science conference proceedings and papers and more.
Science Conference Proceedings
Access to science and technology conference proceedings and papers from nineteen professional societies and many national labs. Also has over 500,000 proceedings and papers indexed in the Energy Citations Database covering 1948 to the present. Proceedings and papers from scientific meetings from the following fields, among others: particle physics, nuclear physics, chemistry, petroleum, aeronautics and astronautics, meteorology, engineering, computer science, electric power and fossil fuels.
ScienceCinema
"The videos in ScienceCinema highlight DOE's most exciting scientific research."
Government Information- Energy and the Environment
Numerous links- a great starting point.
more...less...
GODORT
National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL)
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
What You Need to Know about Energy
The National Academies, advisers to the nation on science, engineering, and medicine, provide dependable, objective, and authoritative energy information.

Congressional Committees

Renewable Energy

Alternative Fuel Conversion
EPA
Alternative Fuel Vehicles
U.S. Department of State
Alternative Fueling Station Locator
Fuel Properties
Can create custom charts comparing fuel properties and characteristics for multiple alternative fuels.
International Wind Resource Maps
more...less...
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Solar Maps
Contain monthly average daily total solar resource information.
more...less...
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Renewables in Numbers
A database where "you can search and explore the growing collection of over 4,565,000 literature references and more than 434,000 full text documents not typically available through conventional sources."
Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
DOE Green Energy
Gateway to green energy results from thousands of DOE-sponsored research and development projects, that covers information about various forms of green energy, including solar, wind, bioenergy, and more.
Alternative Fuels
Alternative Fuels & Advanced Vehicle Data Center
A clearinghouse of data, publications, tools, and information on advanced transportation technologies.
Also includes a link to state specific information.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Provides permanent public access to publications from 1977 to the present on subjects related to renewable energy and energy-efficient technologies.
more...less...
A partnership between GPO and the National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Fossil Fuels

Coal Information
Coal statistics. 2000-present. Earlier years in STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- HD9540.1.C63
more...less...
OECD
Total Stations Count
Locate total count of fueling stations in the U.S. by fuel type.
Fossil Energy
This Week in Petroleum
Fuel Economy.gov
Includes gas mileage, emissions, air pollution ratings, and car safety data comparisons.

Electricity

Electricity
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Electricity Information
Statistics and other information. 2001-current
more...less...
OECD

Selected Government Documents

Annual Energy Outlook
STROZIER, Documents -- -- E3.1/4:
Back Issues of Monthly Periodicals by Year
Periodicals from the Energy Information Administration. Access to Electric Power Monthly, Monthly Energy Review, Natural Gas Monthly, Petroleum Marketing Monthly, Petroleum Supply Monthly, Short-term Energy Outlook, and International Petroleum Monthly, mostly from 1996-present
International Energy Annual
Older editions available in STROZIER, Documents Microfiche and Print -- E3.11/20:
Monthly Energy Review
Older editions available in STROZIER, Documents General Collection -- E3.9:
Reports and Publications
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Wind Energy Resource Atlas of the United States
Also available in STROZIER, Documents Microfiche E1.99: DE86 004442.

Library Databases

OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new window
OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. OSTI.GOV provides access to this DOE STI by offering numerous easy-to-use search capabilities and customization options; and for the DOE community, additional citation information is available to help researchers evaluate article impact and find related research.
Tutorials:
Introduction to OSTI.GOV (02:24)

Abbreviation: osti
Vendor: U.S. Department of Energy
Subjects: Engineering
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Open Access, Reports
Environmental Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International literature on technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety and energy production.
Coverage includes:
- Agricultural equipment and methods
- Arctic and tropical engineering
- Coastal engineering
- Environmental impact and protection
- Hazardous materials
- Heat exchangers
- Hydroelectric power
- Internal combustion engines
- Mines and quarry equipment
- Nuclear power plants
Abbreviation: envengabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1990–Current
Subjects: Engineering
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the OECD, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Everything published by the OECD (books, journals, series, working papers, databases) is available online on OECD. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, ActiveChart, DATA, ePUB, READ.
Tutorials:
User Guide

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development

Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

OpenNet
This database provides access to recently declassified documents and also includes access to information declassified in response to Freedom of Information Act requests.

Research Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy