Research Guides: U.S. Government: Environmental Protection

About EPA

The mission of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is "to protect human health and the environment." EPA is responsible for the following participatory science programs listed in Explore Projects.

EPA: Terms of Environment: Glossary, Abbreviations and Acronyms

EPA Publications

National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
List of digital publications
NSCEP/NEPIS- EPA's Gateway to Free Digital & Paper Publications

Selected EPA Websites

EPA (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Climate
Clean Energy
Nuclear Energy
Cars and Light Trucks
Information on controlling emissions from these vehicles that includes regulations, fuel economy, vehicle standards and more.
AirNow
"An index for reporting daily air quality. It tells you how clean or polluted your outdoor air is, and what associated health effects might be a concern for you." Useful links at the bottom of the page.
Air Pollutants
Water Science
Watersheds
Wetlands
Beaches
Flooding
EPA Actions on Tribal Water Quality
A partial list of federally-recognized tribes.
Forests
Sustainability
Pesticides
Bed Bug Information
Wastes
Wastewater Management
Toxics Release Inverntory (TRI) PRogram
This database contains "information on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities."
Databases and Software
Enforcement & Compliance History Online (ECHO)
Air and Drinking water data for counties, hazardous waste data and much more.
Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Database
The Documents Collection has many environmental impact statements from the EPA. You can search the online catalog or browse in the shelves in the call numbers EP1.57/3: and EP1.57/4: on the ground floor of Strozier Library.
Environmental Indicators Gateway
Ability to search for projects in specific areas of the United States, by clicking on the map.
HERO Database
"HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment."
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
"A human health assessment program that evaluates quantitative and qualitative risk information on effects that may result from exposure to environmental contaminants."
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
"Site for free EPA print and digital documents "
Science Inventory
"A searchable database of EPA science activities and scientific and technical products conducted by EPA and through EPA-funded assistance agreements. Science Inventory records provide descriptions of the activity or product, contact information, and links to available printed material or Web sites."

Library Databases

Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds—microbes, plants, and animals—interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
Abbreviation: ecology
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982-Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests This link opens in a new window
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
Coverage includes:
- Air transportation
- Defense programs
- Energy
- Hazardous substances
- Land use
- Parks, refuges and forests
- Research and development
- Roads and railroads
- Urban and social programs
- Water
Abbreviation: eis
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1985-Current
Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Oceanography
Type: Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 6,000,000 summaries of journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings dating from 1970 forward as well as more than 10,000 web site abstracts, and 80 full-text searchable handbooks, patents and standards. Access ends December 31, 2024.
Abbreviation: eng-infovillage
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1970-Current
Subjects: Engineering, Material Science
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open-access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Abbreviation: green
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1898-Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The broad multi-disciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects. Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.
Abbreviation: risk
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1990-Current
Subjects: Risk Management
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Research Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy