Research Guides: U.S. Government: Foreign Relations

Foreign Relations of the United States

Foreign Relations of the U.S. (FRUS) -- Serial Set Correlation List:
Serial Set Correlations List of the (FRUS)
Department of State Office of the Historian
Official documents from the Foreign Relations of the United States series.
Treaties in Force
Treaties in Force 2020 lists treaties and other international agreements of the United States on record in the Department of State.
Historical Documents
Historical documents from the Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), classified by the presidential administration of that year.
The Avalon Project
Papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States:
International Agreements and Diplomatic Documents
Documents relating to international agreements and diplomacy
United States House of Foreign Affairs Committee
Government source of the United States House of Foreign Affairs Committee
National Archives: U.S. Foreign Affairs Research
Official documents specializing in foreign policy issues.
US Department of State Foreign Affairs Manual (FAM) and associated Handbooks (FAHs)
An authoritative source for the Department's organization structures, policies, and procedures that govern the operations of the State Department, the Foreign Service and, other federal agencies.
Senate Foreign Relations Committee:
Source for Senate Foreign Relations Committee information.
Library of Congress Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training:
Interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training
National Security Archive (George Washington University)
National Security Archive documents from the George Washington University
The United States Institute of Peace’s Truth Commissions Digital Collection (Margarita S. Studemeister Digital Library in International Conflict Management)
A collection containing profiles of truth commissions and substantive bodies of inquiry worldwide.
Wilson Center International History Declassified Digital Archive
International historical digital documents from the Wilson Center
Foreign Intelligence Law and National Security Collection (Georgetown University)
Documents on foreign intelligence law and national security
Council on Foreign Relations
A digital source for the Council on Foreign Relations

Sources for early U.S. foreign affairs documentation:
- American State Papers, covers 1789 to 1838 and is available online via the Library of Congress.
- Founders Online , includes documents from the papers of Secretaries of State Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and James Monroe, among others.

Pre-1861 Resources
- List of Resources for research on pre-1861 topics in U.S. foreign relations
- Indexes of foreign affairs related documents in the Serial Set are available:
  - Between 1914 and 1921, Adelaide Rosalia Hasse compiled a three-volume Index to United States Documents Relating to Foreign Affairs, 1828-1861, available online in full text via the Hathi Trust.
  - U.S. foreign relations materials in the pre-1861 U.S. Congressional Serial Set: A much shorter index of the foreign affairs material in the Serial Set, compiled by the Office of the Historian.

FSU Library Databases

U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library (HeinOnline)
Documents on U.S. treaties and agreements
United Nations Law Collection
document collection on United Nations law

Declassified Document Collections

Central Intelligence Agency, Freedom of Information Electronic Reading Room
Declassified documents of the C.I.A.
Department of State, Freedom of Information Electronic Reading Room
Records of the Dept. of State
National Security Archive, Electronic Briefing Books
Sets of 5 to 100+ documents on various topics in foreign policy

Department of State Telegrams

National Archives and Records Administration, Access to Archival Databases
Database records for the National Archives and Records Administration

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States

University of California at Santa Barbara American Presidency Project
Documents from the presidents of the United States

Association of Southeast Asian Nations

Documents and Archive
Statements from the Association of Southeast Asian Nations