Skip to Main Content
Agriculture Department Periodicals Index
A 109.11: Rural Cooperatives
Rural Cooperatives is USDA Rural Development's bi-monthly magazine contains articles and news items relevant to agricultural and non-agricultural cooperatives.
A 93.62: Amber Waves
Amber Waves is published monthly that showcases the full range of Economic Research Service research and analysis on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America.
National Institute of Standards and Technology Periodicals Index
C 13.22: Journal of research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology
The Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology is the flagship publication of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
C 18.5/3 Survey of Current Business
The Survey of Current Business (SCB) has served as the journal of record for the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA), offering a variety of articles including detailed presentations about recent data releases, explanations of annual and benchmark updates, explanations of key methodologies, updates about in-development data sets, relevant research by BEA economists, briefings on key issues, and ongoing statistical and related innovations in general.
C 55.52: Earth System Monitor
The Earth System Monitor is a free publication that reports on NOAA environmental data and information programs, projects, and activities.
C 55.127: Aware
Aware is a free publication of the National Weather Service geared to the emergency management community, partners and NWS staff.
C 55.135: Mariners Weather Log
The Mariners Weather Log (MWL), a publication of the National Weather Service (NWS), contains articles, news and information about marine weather events and phenomena, worldwide environmental impact concerns, climatology studies, storms at sea, and weather forecasting.
C 55.310: Marine Fisheries Review
The quarterly journal, Marine Fisheries Review (MFR) publishes review articles, research reports, significant progress reports, technical notes, and news articles on fisheries science, engineering and economics, commercial and recreational fisheries, marine mammal studies, aquaculture, and U.S. and foreign fisheries developments. Emphasis, however, is on indepth review articles and practical or applied aspects of marine fisheries rather than pure research.
C 55.331/2: Alaska Fisheries Science Center Quarterly Report
Information about the Alaska Fisheries Science Center's research activities and results with in-depth feature articles are provided in the AFSC's Quarterly Report.
Civil Rights Commission Periodicals Index
CR 1.17: Civil Rights Journal
The Civil Rights Journal is published by the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Articles and other material contained in the Civil Rights Journal do not necessarily reflect USCCR policy, but are offered to stimulate thinking and discussion about various civil rights issues.
Defense Department Periodicals Index
The papers published in the Defense Horizons series present key research and analysis conducted by the Center for Technology and National Security Policy (CTNSP) and its associate members on scientific and technical assessments with analyses of current strategic and defense policy issues, taking on topics to bridge the gap
On scene is the quarterly search & rescue newsletter published by the Office of Search and Rescue, U.S. Coast Guard.
Surface Warfare Magazine is the professional magazine of the surface warfare community. Its purpose is to educate its readers on surface warfare missions and programs, with a particular focus on U.S. surface ships and commands.
D 1.60: Defense AT&L
Defense AT&L magazine is a vehicle for transmitting information on policies, trends, events, ad current thinking affecting program management and Defense Acquisition, Technology and Logistics.
D 1.86: DISAM Journal of International Security Assistance
Publication covering politics and the aerospace and defense industries.
D 1.88: Defense Standardization Program Journal
The Defense Standardization Program Journal is a publication produced by the Defense Standardization Program Office (DSPO)
D 1.103: Defense Acquisition Review Journal
The Defense Acquisition Review Journal (ARJ) is a scholarly peer-reviewed journal published by the Defense Acquisition University (DAU).
D 1.116: Asia-Pacific Defense Forum
Asia-Pacific Defense Forum is a professional military magazine published quarterly by the Commander of the United States Pacific Command to provide an international forum for military personnel of the Asian and Pacific areas.
D 5.20: Joint Force Quarterly
JFQ is the Chairman's joint military and security studies journal designed to inform and educate national security professionals on joint and integrated operations; whole of government contributions to national security policy and strategy; homeland security; and developments in training and joint military education to better equip America's military and security apparatus to meet tomorrow's challenges while protecting freedom today.
D 5.417: Strategic Forum
The mission of Studies in Intelligence is to stimulate within the Intelligence Community the constructive discussion of important issues of the day, to expand knowledge of lessons learned from past experiences, to increase understanding of the history of the profession, and to provide readers with considered reviews of public literature concerning intelligence.
D 101.12: Soldiers
(Older Issues: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1598)
To showcase a human side of the American Soldier in action. 'Soldiers' spotlights in-depth feature articles and videos about people, policies, operations, technical developments, trends and ideas of and about the Department of the Army.
D 101.22:27-100- Military Law Review
The Military Law Review is a quarterly the premier U.S. Armed Forces journal of military legal scholarship designed for use by military attorneys in connection with their official duties and provides a forum for those interested in military law to share the products of their experience and research.
D 101.22/32: Army Lawyer
The Army Lawyer is published by The Judge Advocate General's Legal Center & School (JAGS). Originally begun in August 1971 as a Department of the Army Pamphlet series, the publication has been issued monthly since 1974. It is intended primarily "for the official use of Army lawyers in the performance of their legal responsibilities."
D 101.42/3: Army Medical Department journal.
The Army Medical Department Journal is a quarterly, peer-reviewed, professional publication with worldwide distribution. It provides a forum for the presentation and exchange of the most current, high level healthcare, clinical, and medical research information, as well as medically related combat experiences and military doctrine development ideas and proposals.
D 101.52/3: Army AL&T
Army AL&T Magazine is a quarterly professional journal published by the U.S. Army Acquisition Support Center. This official military magazine reports on Army research, development and acquisition and includes articles relative to state-of-the-art technology, capabilities, processes, procedures, techniques, and management philosophy, focusing heavily on lessons learned and best business practices
D 101.69: Army Sustainment
Army Sustainment's purpose is to provide a medium for disseminating and exchanging sustainment news and information and a forum for expressing original, creative, innovative thought about sustainment.
D 101.72: Parameters: United States Army War College Quarterly
Parameters: United States Army War College Quarterly provides a forum for expression of professional thought on the art and science of warfare, national and international security, military history, strategy, leadership, and management.
D 101.84/2: Military Police
Military Police is an Army professional bulletin for the Military Police Corps Regiment. It contains information about security and mobility support, police operations, and detention operations.
D 101.127: NCO Journal
The NCO Journal is the official journal for noncommissioned officer professional development. It provides a forum for the open exchange of ideas and information relevant to the NCO Corps.
D 101.161: Aircraft Survivability
Aircraft Survivability is published three times a year by the Joint Aircraft Survivability Program Office (JASPO) chartered by the US Army Aviation & Missile Command, US Air Force Aeronautical Systems Center, and US Navy Naval Air Systems Command.
D 103.115: Engineer The professional bulletin for Army engineers
Engineer is published by the U.S. Army Engineer School and Maneuver Support Center of Excellence. The objectives of Engineer are to inform, motivate, increase knowledge, improve performance, and provide a forum for the exchange of ideas.
D 103.122/3 Public Works Digest
Public Works Digest is an unofficial publication of the U.S. Army Installation Management Command, under AR 360-1
D 106.3/4: Quartermaster Professional Bulletin
The Quartermaster Professional Bulletin was published quarterly from March 1988 to September 2009 by the US Army Quartermaster School of current and emerging developments to enhance their professional development.
D 110.7: Military Review
Military Review is an established Army forum to promote original thought and debate on topics related to the art and science of land warfare.
D 111.14: Army Communicator
Published quarterly until 2016 as printed professional journal, the Army Communicator covers a variety of topics important to the lives and careers of Signal Soldiers, including features on Signaleers, updates on the latest technological innovations, and frontline viewpoints from Soldiers working in the field.
D 116.17: Army Chemical Review
Army Chemical Review presents professional information about Chemical Corps functions related to chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, smoke, flame, and civil support operations.
D 202.9: Naval Aviation News
Naval Aviation News covers all aspects of naval air operations. Articles review the latest technological advances in aircraft and weapon systems and the influence of U.S. naval air power in global events.
D 202.13: Approach: Navy & Marine Corps Aviation Safety Magazine
Since 1955 Approach magazine has guided Navy and Marine Corps aviation professionals with information, statistics and a bit of humor. Most of all, Approach has given aviators a place to share stories, misdeeds and adventures, to make us better, safer and more effective.
D 202.19: Mech
Mech magazine was welcomed into the fleet in 1961. As the aviation-maintenance safety magazine for the Navy and Marine Corps, it has provided stories, information, procedures and most of all, a venue to raise safety awareness among our aviation maintainers.
D 207.18/2: Undersea Warfare
Undersea Warfare is the professional magazine of the undersea warfare community. Its purpose is the educate its readers on undersea warfare missions and programs, with a particular focus of U.S. submarines.
D 208.209: Naval War College Review
The quarterly Naval War College Review serves as a platform for for scholars and professionals to discuss maritime-related public policy issues through book reviews, essays, and academic articles.
D 212.14: Navy Supply Corps Newsletter
The Navy Supply Corps Newsletter is the professional journal of the United States Navy Supply Corps. The Navy Supply Corps Newsletter strives to provide our audience with timely and accurate news and information about the Supply Corps. We strive to facilitate an issue-driven, principle-based and audience-focused conversation online.
D 301.8: Citizen Airman
Citizen Airman is the official magazine of the Air Force Reserve
D 301.26/24: Air & Space Power Journal
Air & Space Power Journal (ASPJ) is the US Air Force’s (USAF) professional peer-reviewed journal and the leading forum for airpower thought and dialogue. It is designed to serve as an open forum for the presentation and stimulation of innovative thinking on military doctrine, strategy, force structure, readiness, and other matters of national defense.
D 302.9: Air Force Law Review
The Air Force Law Review is a publication of The Judge Advocate General, United States Air Force. It is published semiannually by The Judge Advocate General's School as a professional legal forum for articles of interest to military and civilian lawyers. The Law Review encourages frank discussion of relevant legislative, administrative, and judicial developments..
D 301.44/2: Combat Edge
Combat Edge is a quarterly publication of the Air Combat Command features articles and stories focused upon safety and performance disciplines.
D 301.129: CrossTalk: Journal of Defense Software Engineering
CrossTalk, The Journal of Defense Software Engineering, is an approved U.S. Department of Defense journal. The mission of the journal is to encourage the engineering development of software in order to improve the reliability, sustainability, and responsiveness of our warfighting capability and to inform and educate readers on up-to-date policy decisions and new software engineering technologies.
Energy Department Periodicals Index
Today at Berkeley Lab
Older issues (Currents, The View):
Today at Berkeley Lab, the current (as of May 2018) employee newsletter began 2003 and was a daily publication emailed to employees at the Berkeley Lab. Older employee newsletters were called the Current and the View.
E 1.28/17: Oak Ridge National Laboratory Review
Oak Ridge National Laboratory Review is the lab’s R&D magazine. For 49 years the Review has spotlighted the cutting edge research and talented researchers located at the Department of Energy’s largest science and energy laboratory.
E 1.53: Science and Technology Review
Science & Technology Review is published eight times a year to communicate, to a broad audience, the Laboratory’s scientific and technological accomplishments in support of national security and other enduring national needs.
E 1.86/15: TransForum
News from Argonne’s Transportation Research Program
E 1.96/4: Actinide Research Quarterly
The Actinide Research Quarterly reports on research in actinide science in areas such as process chemistry, metallurgy, surface and separation sciences, atomic and molecular sciences, actinide ceramics and nuclear fuels, characterization, spectroscopy, analysis, and manufacturing technologies.
E 1.140/3: Energy Matters
Energy Matters, the BestPractices quarterly of the Department of Energy's Industrial Technologies Program (ITP), is your online source for in-depth information that can help you manage energy use and enhance efficiency in your plant.
Federal Reserve Periodicals Index
Econ Focus is the economics magazine of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. The quarterly publication covers economic issues affecting the Fifth Federal Reserve District and the nation.
This quarterly academic journal contains articles on monetary theory and policy, banking and finance, and the payment system. Its predecessor, Economic Review, was published from 1974 to 1992.
Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions (The Beige Book)
Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources.
Health and Human Services Department Periodicals Index
HE 20.30: Public Health Reports
Public Health Reports is the official journal of the Office of the U.S. Surgeon General and the U.S. Public Health Service. The journal is peer-reviewed and publishes articles with topics such as tobacco control, teenage violence, occupational disease and injury, immunization, drug policy, lead screening, health disparities, and many other key and emerging public health issues.
HE 20.1967: NIDA Notes
For the last 25 years, NIDA (National Institute on Drug Abuse) Notes has provided in-depth coverage of research findings on drug abuse and addiction.
HE 20.3007/3: NIH Record
The NIH Record is a publication of the United States government for employees of the National Institutes of Health.
HE 20.3061: NIH Catalyst
The NIH Catalyst showcases the scientific research conducted at the National Institutes of Health and contains feature stories, essays, breaking news on NIH research, profiles, and information about Scientific Interest Groups, as well as articles on new scientific methods, NIH history, the Clinical Center, and more.
HE 20.3559: Environmental Health Perspectives
Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP) is a monthly journal of environmental health research and news published with support from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
HE 20.7009: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report is a weekly epidemiological digest for the United States published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
HE 20.7009/2-2: MMWR Recommendations and Reports
The MMWR Recommendations and Reports contain in-depth articles that relay policy statements for prevention and treatment on all areas in CDC’s scope of responsibility
HE 20.7817: Emerging Infectious Diseases
Emerging Infectious Diseases is an open access journal published monthly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
HE 20.8309: Alcohol Research and Health
Alcohol Research: Current Reviews is the peer-reviewed journal of the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. Each issue presents an in-depth review of an important area of alcohol research.
HE 20.8322: Alcohol Alert
The NIAAA Alcohol Alert was a quarterly bulletin produced from 1988 through 2015 that disseminated important research findings on a single aspect of alcohol and health.
HE 22.18: Health Care Financing Review
The HCFR was released from 1979 and 2009 with the goal of presenting information and analyses on a broad range of health care financing and delivery issues to improve the understanding of the Medicare and Medicaid Programs and the U.S. health care system.
Housing and Urban Development Department Periodicals Index
HH 1.75/2: Cityscape
The goal of Cityscape is to bring high-quality original research on housing and community development issues to scholars, government officials, and practitioners.
HH 1.75/4: Research Works
ResearchWorks was the official newsletter of U.S. Housing and Urban Development (HUD)'s Office of Policy Development & Research (PD&R). In 2012, ResearchWorks became part of The Edge. The Edge provides a conise view of PD&R research, periodicals, events, and publications.
Homeland Security Periodicals Index
HS 7.16: Proceedings of the Marine Safety & Security Council
Proceedings of the Marine Safety & Security Council, the Coast Guard Journal of Safety at Sea, is the voice of the Coast Guard’s Marine Safety and Security Council. Recent themes have included: The 21st Century Maritime Workforce; Recreational Boating Safety; Waterways: America's Economic Engine; Safety Management Systems; and Improving Maritime Safety.
Interior Department Periodicals Index
I 19.173: NBII Access
The National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) is a broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources. In the 2012 President's Budget Request, the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) is terminated. As a result, all resources, databases, tools, and applications was removed. Link provides download link for previous newsletters.
I 29.3/4: Park Science
Park Science is a research and resource management journal of the U.S. National Park Service. It reports the implications of recent and ongoing natural and social science and related cultural research for park planning, management, and policy.
I 29.59/5-2: Common Ground
Common Ground magazine is published in print and online by the Archeology and Ethnograpy Program of the National Park Service.
I 29.86/2: CRM: Journal of Heritage Stewardship
CRM: The Journal of Heritage Stewardship was published from 2003 to 2011. It addressed the history and development of and trends and emerging issues in cultural resource management in the United States and abroad.
I 49.77: Endangered Species Bulletin
Through the Bulletin, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service disseminates information on rulemakings, recovery plans and activities, conservation partnerships, research developments, and a variety of other endangered and threatened species issues.
I 53.41/2: BLM-Alaska Frontiers
Frontiers, the Bureau of Land Management's news journal for Alaska, delivers exciting and insightful articles on the latest environmental actions, news, policies, and recreational areas.
Justice Department Periodicals Index
J 28.14/2-2: National Institute of Justice Journal
The NIJ Journal, published several times a year, features articles to help criminal justice policymakers and practitioners stay informed about new developments.
J 31.12: United States Attorneys Bulletin
The United States Attorney's Bulletin, no calledThe Department of Justice Journal of Federal Law and Practice, is published six times a year by the Executive Office of United States Attorneys. Each issue focuses on a legal or technical topic of interest to attorneys in the United States Department of Justice.
Judiciary Periodicals Index
JU 10.3/2: Third Branch
(Older issues: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1535)
Since 1989, The Third Branch newsletter has been the federal Judiciary’s monthly print publication and news source. The publication includes time-sensitive news, top stories, and feature articles enhanced with audio segments, video and graphics.
Labor Department Periodicals Index
L 2.70/4: Career Outlook
Career Outlook articles provide data and information on a variety of topics including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Library of Congress Periodicals Index
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Periodicals Index
NAS 1.95: Technology Innovation
Technology Innovation provides information about NASA's technology needs and opportunities, as well as interesting facts and feature articles about our successes.
National Foundation of Arts and Humanities Periodicals Index
NF 3.11: Humanities
Humanities is a quarterly magazine published by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) which includes vivid and interesting descriptions of: NEH sponsored research in the humanities, NEH programs and projects, and issues related to the humanities in the United States. Also provides recent NEH grants, deadlines, and useful information for applicants seeking funds.
President of the United States/ Executive Office of the President Periodicals Index
PR 42.8/4: Journal of Public Inquiry
The Journal of Public Inquiry is a publication of the Inspectors General of the United States.
PREX 3.19: Studies in Intelligence
Studies in Intelligence is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal on intelligence that is published by the Center for the Study of Intelligence, a group within the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). It contains both classified and unclassified articles on the methodology and history of the field of intelligence gathering.
State Department Periodicals Index
S 1.118: State
State Magazine is published to facilitate communication between management and employees at home and abroad and to acquaint employees with developments that may affect operations or personnel. The magazine is also available to persons interested in working for the Department of State and to the general public.
S 1.123: Background Notes
The U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets, also known as the Background Notes, are a series of works by the United States Department of State. These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Smithsonian Institution Periodicals Index
Social Security Administration Periodicals Index
SSA 1.22: Social Security Bulletin
The Social Security Administration's(SSA) quarterly research journal, the Social Security Bulletin, is known for its comprehensive coverage of issues relating to Social Security. Articles focus on the Social Security and SSI programs, the income of the aged, private pension coverage, the poverty status of various groups (such as women and children), reform of Social Security, and other timely subjects.
Transportation Department Periodicals Index
TD 2.19: Public Roads
Public Roads is the quarterly magazine of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). Reading Public Roads is the easiest way to keep up-to-date on developments in federal highway policies, programs, and research and technology.
Veterans Affairs Department Periodicals Index
VA 1.94: PTSD Research Quarterly
The PTSD Research Quarterly (RQ) is an electronic newsletter produced by the National Center for PTSD, Department of Veterans Affairs. Each RQ newsletter contains a review article written by guest experts on a specific topic related to PTSD.
Congressional Committees Periodicals Index
Y 3.P 31:15-2/ Peace Watch
United States Institute of Peace's magazine-style newsletter features the Institute’s work around the world as well as developments in Washington, DC.
Y 3.P 31:19/ USIP Special Reports
The United States Institute of Peace (USIP) regularly publishes reports that focus on various aspects of global violence and how to address it.
Y 4.Se 2/11: CSCE Digest
The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CGCE) regularly compile items of thematic interest as well as summaries of recent events and developments in the OSCE region.
Coordinator for Government Information