Skip to Main Content
Defense Department Periodicals Index
The papers published in the Defense Horizons series present key research and analysis conducted by the Center for Technology and National Security Policy (CTNSP) and its associate members on scientific and technical assessments with analyses of current strategic and defense policy issues, taking on topics to bridge the gap
On scene is the quarterly search & rescue newsletter published by the Office of Search and Rescue, U.S. Coast Guard.
Surface Warfare Magazine is the professional magazine of the surface warfare community. Its purpose is to educate its readers on surface warfare missions and programs, with a particular focus on U.S. surface ships and commands.
D 1.60: Defense AT&L
Defense AT&L magazine is a vehicle for transmitting information on policies, trends, events, ad current thinking affecting program management and Defense Acquisition, Technology and Logistics.
D 1.86: DISAM Journal of International Security Assistance
Publication covering politics and the aerospace and defense industries.
D 1.88: Defense Standardization Program Journal
The Defense Standardization Program Journal is a publication produced by the Defense Standardization Program Office (DSPO)
D 1.103: Defense Acquisition Review Journal
The Defense Acquisition Review Journal (ARJ) is a scholarly peer-reviewed journal published by the Defense Acquisition University (DAU).
D 1.116: Asia-Pacific Defense Forum
Asia-Pacific Defense Forum is a professional military magazine published quarterly by the Commander of the United States Pacific Command to provide an international forum for military personnel of the Asian and Pacific areas.
D 5.20: Joint Force Quarterly
JFQ is the Chairman's joint military and security studies journal designed to inform and educate national security professionals on joint and integrated operations; whole of government contributions to national security policy and strategy; homeland security; and developments in training and joint military education to better equip America's military and security apparatus to meet tomorrow's challenges while protecting freedom today.
D 5.417: Strategic Forum
The mission of Studies in Intelligence is to stimulate within the Intelligence Community the constructive discussion of important issues of the day, to expand knowledge of lessons learned from past experiences, to increase understanding of the history of the profession, and to provide readers with considered reviews of public literature concerning intelligence.
D 101.12: Soldiers
(Older Issues: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1598)
To showcase a human side of the American Soldier in action. 'Soldiers' spotlights in-depth feature articles and videos about people, policies, operations, technical developments, trends and ideas of and about the Department of the Army.
D 101.22:27-100- Military Law Review
The Military Law Review is a quarterly the premier U.S. Armed Forces journal of military legal scholarship designed for use by military attorneys in connection with their official duties and provides a forum for those interested in military law to share the products of their experience and research.
D 101.22/32: Army Lawyer
The Army Lawyer is published by The Judge Advocate General's Legal Center & School (JAGS). Originally begun in August 1971 as a Department of the Army Pamphlet series, the publication has been issued monthly since 1974. It is intended primarily "for the official use of Army lawyers in the performance of their legal responsibilities."
D 101.42/3: Army Medical Department journal.
The Army Medical Department Journal is a quarterly, peer-reviewed, professional publication with worldwide distribution. It provides a forum for the presentation and exchange of the most current, high level healthcare, clinical, and medical research information, as well as medically related combat experiences and military doctrine development ideas and proposals.
D 101.52/3: Army AL&T
Army AL&T Magazine is a quarterly professional journal published by the U.S. Army Acquisition Support Center. This official military magazine reports on Army research, development and acquisition and includes articles relative to state-of-the-art technology, capabilities, processes, procedures, techniques, and management philosophy, focusing heavily on lessons learned and best business practices
D 101.69: Army Sustainment
Army Sustainment's purpose is to provide a medium for disseminating and exchanging sustainment news and information and a forum for expressing original, creative, innovative thought about sustainment.
D 101.72: Parameters: United States Army War College Quarterly
Parameters: United States Army War College Quarterly provides a forum for expression of professional thought on the art and science of warfare, national and international security, military history, strategy, leadership, and management.
D 101.84/2: Military Police
Military Police is an Army professional bulletin for the Military Police Corps Regiment. It contains information about security and mobility support, police operations, and detention operations.
D 101.127: NCO Journal
The NCO Journal is the official journal for noncommissioned officer professional development. It provides a forum for the open exchange of ideas and information relevant to the NCO Corps.
D 101.161: Aircraft Survivability
Aircraft Survivability is published three times a year by the Joint Aircraft Survivability Program Office (JASPO) chartered by the US Army Aviation & Missile Command, US Air Force Aeronautical Systems Center, and US Navy Naval Air Systems Command.
D 103.115: Engineer The professional bulletin for Army engineers
Engineer is published by the U.S. Army Engineer School and Maneuver Support Center of Excellence. The objectives of Engineer are to inform, motivate, increase knowledge, improve performance, and provide a forum for the exchange of ideas.
D 103.122/3 Public Works Digest
Public Works Digest is an unofficial publication of the U.S. Army Installation Management Command, under AR 360-1
D 106.3/4: Quartermaster Professional Bulletin
The Quartermaster Professional Bulletin was published quarterly from March 1988 to September 2009 by the US Army Quartermaster School of current and emerging developments to enhance their professional development.
D 110.7: Military Review
Military Review is an established Army forum to promote original thought and debate on topics related to the art and science of land warfare.
D 111.14: Army Communicator
Published quarterly until 2016 as printed professional journal, the Army Communicator covers a variety of topics important to the lives and careers of Signal Soldiers, including features on Signaleers, updates on the latest technological innovations, and frontline viewpoints from Soldiers working in the field.
D 116.17: Army Chemical Review
Army Chemical Review presents professional information about Chemical Corps functions related to chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, smoke, flame, and civil support operations.
D 202.9: Naval Aviation News
Naval Aviation News covers all aspects of naval air operations. Articles review the latest technological advances in aircraft and weapon systems and the influence of U.S. naval air power in global events.
D 202.13: Approach: Navy & Marine Corps Aviation Safety Magazine
Since 1955 Approach magazine has guided Navy and Marine Corps aviation professionals with information, statistics and a bit of humor. Most of all, Approach has given aviators a place to share stories, misdeeds and adventures, to make us better, safer and more effective.
D 202.19: Mech
Mech magazine was welcomed into the fleet in 1961. As the aviation-maintenance safety magazine for the Navy and Marine Corps, it has provided stories, information, procedures and most of all, a venue to raise safety awareness among our aviation maintainers.
D 207.18/2: Undersea Warfare
Undersea Warfare is the professional magazine of the undersea warfare community. Its purpose is the educate its readers on undersea warfare missions and programs, with a particular focus of U.S. submarines.
D 208.209: Naval War College Review
The quarterly Naval War College Review serves as a platform for for scholars and professionals to discuss maritime-related public policy issues through book reviews, essays, and academic articles.
D 212.14: Navy Supply Corps Newsletter
The Navy Supply Corps Newsletter is the professional journal of the United States Navy Supply Corps. The Navy Supply Corps Newsletter strives to provide our audience with timely and accurate news and information about the Supply Corps. We strive to facilitate an issue-driven, principle-based and audience-focused conversation online.
D 301.8: Citizen Airman
Citizen Airman is the official magazine of the Air Force Reserve
D 301.26/24: Air & Space Power Journal
Air & Space Power Journal (ASPJ) is the US Air Force’s (USAF) professional peer-reviewed journal and the leading forum for airpower thought and dialogue. It is designed to serve as an open forum for the presentation and stimulation of innovative thinking on military doctrine, strategy, force structure, readiness, and other matters of national defense.
D 302.9: Air Force Law Review
The Air Force Law Review is a publication of The Judge Advocate General, United States Air Force. It is published semiannually by The Judge Advocate General's School as a professional legal forum for articles of interest to military and civilian lawyers. The Law Review encourages frank discussion of relevant legislative, administrative, and judicial developments..
D 301.44/2: Combat Edge
Combat Edge is a quarterly publication of the Air Combat Command features articles and stories focused upon safety and performance disciplines.
D 301.129: CrossTalk: Journal of Defense Software Engineering
CrossTalk, The Journal of Defense Software Engineering, is an approved U.S. Department of Defense journal. The mission of the journal is to encourage the engineering development of software in order to improve the reliability, sustainability, and responsiveness of our warfighting capability and to inform and educate readers on up-to-date policy decisions and new software engineering technologies.
Coordinator for Government Information